Check/Uncheck boxes to set your preferences. These can be changed at any time:
When a folder is imported into Cubeitz you decide whether the entire folder is encrypted and locked at the first level or whether the hierarchy of the folder structure is maintained, allowing you to look inside the folder/s to find other items. Note- If you do not select to replicate the folder structure, you will have to decrypt the entire folder and its contents to view the information inside. As an exercise create a folder on your desktop with a couple images inside > import it into Cubeitz using both settings so you can see the difference.
If you are encrypting large folders (20+ items) purely for storage we recommend ‘Store all directories in one file’. We also recommend this setting If files need to be adjacent to one another (for example mail merge using word/spreadsheets).
When you log-out/quit/exit Cubeitz you decided whether any data you have decrypted from Cubeitz and residing on your computers operating system is automatically re-encrypted and securely stored back into Cubeitz.
Either displays a default icon or creates an icon from the picture you are importing.
NOTE: Military grade wipe not suitable for SSD drives due to the way they equally distribute files across the drive space.
When you delete data in Cubeitz you can set the amount of times a military grade wipe takes place to completely delete the data. Random data is written over the area of the disk where the data was stored rendering it impossible to retrieve.
Your computer will inform you certain actions have been completed.
Select whether to delete the original file/folder from your computer once imported into Cubeitz. If you have selected to use Military grade delete, this will also apply to the data you are deleting upon import from your computer.
This option either makes Cubeitz encrypted files and folders hidden/visible in the computers operating system. Select a file encrypted in Cubeitz > right-click > Reveal Selected > You can see the files location within the Cubeitz encrypted folder in your computers Operating System.
NOTE: CAUTION – The deletion of any Cubeitz data/ folders from your Operating System will delete the data from Cubeitz itself.
Turn on/off the display of the hidden/ obfuscated location of the files/ folders in the breadcrumb trail.
Show or hide the padlock icon which appears on each cube/ file indicating their current state i.e. encrypted/ unencrypted/ shared/ open.
Upon installation Cubeitz creates a folder called ‘Cubeitz drop encrypt’ in the computers documents folder.
Any data saved to the Cubeitz drop encrypt folder will automatically be imported and saved into Cubeitz at a location defined by the user. Cubeitz routinely checks every 60 seconds for data in the drop encrypt folder, imports it then deletes it from the drop encrypt folder.
This feature allows the user to make Cubeitz part of a workflow by defining the drop encrypt folder as a location for external applications to automatically save data. Perfect for automating off-site back-ups to the cloud.
If a user deletes their defined location or the defined location is not available (external device not connected) the data will be saved by default to the local drive within Cubeitz. Define a location by navigating to a cube (this can be in any location) and clicking ‘current folder’ in the preferences window. The saved location will now display at the bottom of the preferences window –
All preference settings can be changed at any time.
Now you have set your preferences we can begin to start using Cubeitz.